Family and Friends.


Yesterday, I was up early to get organised for the arrival of Meghan, Prue’s friend from New York and ex housemate,  who was coming to have her hair done( yes,I was a hairdresser in a previous life lol) for the Derby Day races.We had a trial run during the week and yesterday was the big day. The Derby is a major event of the Spring Racing Carnival,a high fashion event. Meghan had assembled a beautiful and sophisticated outfit and she looked fabulous. We are anxiously waiting to hear how the day went.

Later in the day, we all worked on the bathroom and it is very close to completion. I have selected the mirror I want but due to the long week-end here, I will not be able to pick it up until Tuesday. We have been taking photos regularly and I will post all of them soon. For many, this may seem like an on going saga( which it has been) but I am so excited that finally we will have a bathroom, that is aesthetically pleasing and user-friendly.

Prue received a letter on Friday, confirming her surgery for Nov. 13th, which she is over the moon about.So am I because she really had endured so much over recent years  and she is too young to be burdened by ill-health. She has been home a week and it has been lovely. Of course there have been a few minor differences of opinion between D and her, but over all , it is going very well(big sigh of relief).

I have a meeting tomorrow and then later , Mum and Bill will  be calling here on their way back to the country. I am looking forward to seeing them, catching up with all their news over a late  lunch, which I will prepare when I return from the meeting. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Family and Friends.

  1. Okay, Maureen:
    I have to admit, I had to catch up on your life a bit. I have visited you on Facebook, but I had to get caught up on your blog — which by the way, what is a bloggitti or whatever? Is this like a “nutters” thing?

    Anyway, you and your family make me laugh! I love the renovation stories. My favorite being the guy who got stuck under the floor. I hope this is not the same guy who was critical of the work done. I mean, who the hell cares how much space there is between tiles or whatever it was. Oh, my God!

    Perhaps he is just jealous! People are strange. Anyway, things sound good. I hope that Prue has a fast recovery with her up-coming surgery. I am sure she will, she is young. And D — poor D. I think you should just let D take a long, hot bubble bath in that new bathroom.

    And, Maureen, I don’t know where you get the energy. But after everything is done, you will get to enjoy your home and hopefully, relax!

    My best to you!
    Lee

  2. Hi Lee,
    Wonderful to hear from you! First, blogitti (http://blogitti.blogiche.com) is similar to A/Inventions and yes, it was THAT neighbour! I don’t know what his problem is. I have never met anyone so negative and bitter.
    I think of you and your family often . My best to you all.
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Maureen,
    Hooray, a definite date for surgery. It’s about time. I’ll be keeping good thoughts.

    Double hooray that the bathroom is nearing completion. I would say bubble baths for everyone, but I think you just did a shower?

    I had forgotten that you used to do hair. I am in desperate need of a cut and style. I am getting ready to go into the bathroom with scissors. The woman who normally does my hair is wonderful, but I just cannot justify the expense. Again, we need to live close to each other.

    Hugs,
    Lita

  4. Hi Lita,
    Yes, it’s been a long time coming but it is almost there.
    It was nice to do hair again but I could never go back to a salon environment. I trained when hair was all up and formal, so I had no trouble styling it in just a few minutes.
    Be careful about those late night trips to the bathroom with scissors… I know all to well how that can turn out. Many times I have got up in the morning and looked at myself in the mirror and regretted it. Ha ha. Yes, another perfect reason why we should live closer.
    Hugs
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

