Grateful for what I have!


It is at about this time each year that I become reflective and go over the events of the year. It has been an eventful year for us as a family but also for me personally.I have a wonderful family who have supported me , through health scares, employment issues, studying and also through many personal crisis when I have been feeling disappointed and let down by people I considered to be friends. Not one to give up on friendships easily,I have found breaking all ties with some individuals difficult but something I had to do. I value true friends and will support them through good times and bad but I cannot and will not be used, deceived and disrespected. This has happened a few times this year and sadly, I have severed ties with those people. I used to allow myself to be used and feel bad about it , but I allowed it to continue, so I had no one to blame except myself . There was only one way to deal with those problems and that was to remove myself from them, which I did. I appreciate a love dearly my true friends and also wish to thank them for their support through out this past year. Life is too short to spend it feeling bad about yourself.How can you love and respect others when you don’t love yourself?

Overall though, it has been a year of exploration for me. I have renewed several relationships from my past, made some very good friends,discovered new interests and achieved well above what I expected I could this year(the bathroom included LOL). When I look around and see what others are going through, I realise I really do have a fortunate life. For this I am grateful and will never take it for granted 🙂

6 thoughts on “Grateful for what I have!

  1. Maureen,
    Great video. I really wish that I could be more like you in that you always manage to find something to be positive about, whereas I always dwell on the negative.

    I’m glad that you were able to accomplish to many things this past year (incuding the bathroom). I hope that 2010 is a banner year for you.

    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Maureen
    I hope Dec 2010 finds us all saying even more good things about our year just passed, and I too envy your positive outlook as I dwell on the negative like Poietes, but at the same time I try to remain wide eyed. I am glad for you that everything turned out so well and the bathroom is magnificent, I really can’t believe you did it yourselves it looks like a professional job like something seen on TV over here to me.
    Cheers
    Glen

  3. Thanks Lita, I really enjoy John Lennon too, especially that song. I try to remain positive but I have to admit, at times it is sooooooo difficult. The bathroom really was a big deal as I always hated going into the old one. Now I just go in there to actually admire it LOL
    I hope that 2010 is a banner year for you too. You deserve good things to happen.
    Big Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Hi Glen,
    I hope that 2010 is a bumper year for you.You are a goood person and deserve good things to happen. I try to be positive, even when I am not LOL Thanks for your comments about the bathroom too. I love it.
    Take lots of care my dear friend.
    Maureen 🙂

  5. Reflection is always good when used to achieve positive growth!
    The world is a tough place to exist in. Facing the unknowns that come with existing in this world are demanding in their self.
    Facing those unknowns with a negative outlook only compounds the unfavorable event(s) and misdirects energy.
    You will never get over the loss, for any reason, of a friend or loved one.
    You must however, endure the pain for it is a part of life and albeit unpleasant, bespeaks volumes about our inner being, as to how well we handle that unknown.
    Keep up the good work you are on my Heroes list.

  6. Hi Richard,
    Thank you for your lovely comment but you are way too generous. My heroes are those who put their life on the line for others. Sound familiar? You are others like you, will always be my heroes.
    Yes, you are so right about loss. It is difficult.
    Best wishes to you, as always.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

