Thank you mystery woman.


Sometimes in life, we meet someone ( albeit briefly) who leaves an indelible impression on us. This is what happened to me , prior to the graduation on Monday night. While waiting for a coffee, I noticed a young woman , possibly in her late 20″, early 30’s, also waiting for her beverage to be prepared beside me. I did not  have my glasses on and she could see that I was having difficulty seeing  my order number ticket.” Here, let me take a look at it for you” she said. I turned around to see a beautiful woman, who literally had half a face  and her remaining eye was severely distorted. ” I might only have one eye but it is 100 %” she laughed. I thanked her and we began chatting about the day, the impending Christmas season and she went on to tell me(completely unsolicited) that she had been involved in a major car accident when she was in her mid teens.We continued chatting and she told me she had a black belt in one of the martial arts  and I told her about my sky diving adventures and recommended to her that she should try it. There was a pause in the conversation and I turned around to see tears streaming down from her remaining eye. ” what’s wrong?” I asked and she grabbed my hand and said that she was overwhelmed that I chatted to her and did not look at her as some type of freak! Why would I?  She was a beautiful woman and she radiated a special warmth , which  immediately drew me to her. She told me her life  since the accident had been very lonely and that she pursued unusual sports and hobbies, to prove to herself and others that she could do these things, regardless of her disabilities. This woman  had every reason to be sad and bitter but she wasn’t. Her joy at being treated and any other individual was disappointing  but not surprising. Being a qualified disability practitioner  I have seen it all too often,  discrimination , mainly due to ignorance or fear.Despite all the education about disability it is still happening. Thank you mystery woman for being so kind to me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thank you mystery woman.

  1. Maureen,
    How lovely and how sad. I cannot imagine you doing anything but having a conversation with this woman, but how sad that people will not talk with her because of the way that she looks. Back to that old judging based on physical appearances horse that I continually thrash. She sounds like a wonderful person who has had a hard life. What a treat for you to have the opportunity to meet and speak with her.

    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comments, as usual. I know you understand exactly how much this meeting meant to me. She was a beautiful woman.
    Big hugs
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

