New York, New York and Christmas Gifts.


Last night we all had a lovely evening.Prue’s ex housemate came over for dinner and we exchanged Christmas gifts, prior to her leaving for the US. As I write, she is winging her way to San Fransisco, then after a brief stopover, on  to JFK. It’s a long flight but she has plenty of work to do on the plane for her employer, so she does not anticipate sleeping until she arrives at her parents’ home in Pennsylvania.Although  this will be her third trip back this year, she was excited and looking forward to catching up with her family, shopping and going skiing. When she left here late last night, she had not packed but being the seasoned traveller that she is, she said that task would only take a few minutes! Her husband will be flying out to join her next week and they will stay until New Year’s Day before returning to Melbourne and returning to work the next day.

There is a relaxed atmosphere here this morning. D attended his work break up yesterday afternoon which he said was good but he left relatively early because he is not into drinking large quantities of alcohol and his work mates were gearing up for a long evening, so he left them to it.Right now he has gone out to do his normal Saturday routine – going to the Asian food markets and buying a ticket in the weekly lottery. He prefers to go alone and is quite a local identity around the various stores(mainly due to the fact that he is not Asian). The shopkeepers all know him by name and he loves the recognition lol. Such a show pony, you can see where Prue gets it from can’t you? Ha ha.

D was banging on this morning about what I want for Christmas but I cannot think of anything I need. I told him that I am successful in obtaining a new job I will need to buy some new clothes and that will be my gift  but he does not regard clothing as a gift and is insisting I give him a few suggestions. I honestly cannot think of anything  other than a peaceful day with family , friends, good food and plenty of fun and laughter. He was not impressed and I fear he will go out and buy me something anyway.

Have a fabulous week-end! 🙂

6 thoughts on “New York, New York and Christmas Gifts.

  1. Maureen,
    New clothes for your job will be wonderful, but you should still indulge D and think of something that he can get you for Christmas. How about a gift certificate for a pedicure? Indulge yourself.

    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Hi Lita.
    I had no idea what to suggest so D took it upon himself to select the gift and he blew me away. Totally over the top and something I would NEVER, EVER buy myself . A Tiffany ring!!!!!!!!!!!! Can you believe it? I certainly can’t. It is beautiful.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Maureen,
    Omigawd, are you serious? A new bathroom and a Tiffany ring in the same year??? I am positively green with envy, but my dear, you absolutely deserve it. So happy for you.
    Hugs,
    Lita

  4. Hi Lita, Yes.
    Isn’t it unbelievable? I was reticent to mention it because I did not want to sound like I was bragging or showing off but it came as such a shock, I just had to share it with you. Seems D had been doing a few extra jobs and had put the money away to buy a nice gift for Prue and me, He certainly kept it a secret!
    Hugs
    Maureen

  5. Hi and welcome,
    Thank you for your kind words. I have visited your site and it seems to be good shopping resource.
    Best wishes
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

