Family and Friends- Thank You.


I have thought long and hard about what I will write today. As is often the case, I fear writing honestly and openly will hurt or upset others, so I tend to err on the side of caution and not write about particular issues/concerns at all. This year, more than any other year, I have learned the value of family, personal principles, genuine friends and been dismayed and disappointed by those who purported to be friends.Friendship is something I value dearly and removing myself from friendships that have become untenable is not something I do lightly. This year however, circumstances have forced me to make  some radical decisions about those whom I once considered to be good friends.When a relationship becomes toxic, the best thing to do is to walk away. One can only invest so much time and  emotion on individuals who are hell bent on disrupting the lives of others, making complete fools of themselves  and who bring nothing to the table but a self centred and poisonous attitude. The world is filled with enough hatred , without having to contend with the bitterness that seems to dominate the lives of some unfortunate people.Is it really so difficult to be kind, considerate, positive and honest? It seems so and even more difficult to say something nice about others!

This year , I have learned so much from and about my genuine friends. They have been there, in good times and bad, to offer kind words of support, words of wisdom and that other much underrated asset-humour. We have laughed and cried together and it has been wonderful.

My family has been my rock. We have grown closer this year and have learned to respect and embrace our differences. Bonds have been strengthened and I am thankful that  we are all healthy and well.

I know I have been rambling on but the bottom line is that no matter how bad this year may have been for me, my family and friends, we have each other and I wouldn’t change that for anything. Thank you 🙂

5 thoughts on “Family and Friends- Thank You.

  1. Maureen,
    “In my life,” ranks up there in my top five Beatles’ songs–so beautiful.

    People come and go in our lives, but family, for the most part, is supposed to be forever. I am glad that you have your family to support you through everything. Sometimes, it really is enough to sustain us.

    Big hugs,
    Lita

  2. Ending a year of trials, tribulations and triumphs on a speck of wisdom gained from your experiences, is a monumental start toward the new year. The seed is planted, nurture it through the year and let’s see what we have reaped! Same time next year?

  3. Hi Lita,
    I absolutely love “In my Life”. It always brings a tear to my eye.
    You are right. People come and go but family will always be family.
    Hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  4. Hi Richard,
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, it has been a memorable year for many reasons but we are still all here to usher in the New Year and for that I am grateful.
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

