A Trip Back In Time.


I have decided that this year I am going to continue what I began doing late last year-re-connecting with relatives and friends with whom I have lost contact. Already I have caught up with one of my brothers, Brendan, whom I have not seen or heard from since my father died several years ago. Although we had no dispute , we just drifted apart and completely lost contact, so it was so good to get in touch with him and even better that he responded! I hope that we can catch up in person at a family reunion, a cousin is planning  to have sometime soon.

Another person I am hoping to find is a woman who was my best friend and constant companion while we were growing up- Bernadette. I wrote about her some time ago and I fear that finding her and re-connecting is not going to be easy but I am going to try.

Since I began my quest last year, I have found several friends from my past and it really has been lovely. Discovering the various twists and turns, the paths that each of us has followed, the relationships, families, births, deaths, careers and also what type of individuals we are now.I have not been disappointed  and pleased that my intrusion into their lives has been welcomed.

For many years, in fact since my late teens/ early twenties, I have gone out of my way to leave a large portion of my life behind, forgotten, dead and buried. This was an attempt to forget a period which was highly traumatic and at times incredibly sad. I wanted to blot out any memories of that time and in doing so, blotted out everyone. In hindsight,I realise that this was my coping mechanism and it worked for me. With the passing of time, I see things differently and hope that I can catch up with those I left behind.

It is beginning to get hot here again and  later in the week it is predicted to be even hotter. Prue has asked her father if he will take her fishing. She loves fishing, as does D. Perhaps they can have a father/daughter bonding session!

4 thoughts on “A Trip Back In Time.

  1. Maureen,
    I admire your desire to reconnect with people from your past. I hope that it works out well for you.

    Personally, there are some people from my past that I would just as soon never set eyes on again as they caused me so much pain. It’s that part of me that doesn’t let go . . .

    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Hi Lita ,
    Thanks for your kind comments. I have to admit that there will be certain individuals I will NOT be looking up because they caused me so much pain and grief. Uncharitable? Maybe but I am not willing to go there again.
    Big hugs
    Maureen 🙂

  3. Something tells me there are a lot of us who drift away from those we once cared for. It sounds like quite a journey you have undertaken for this coming year. Think of the internal peace you will have achieved by the end of 2010. Hope you post some follow ups. Good luck with your reconnections.

  4. Hi 59 thoughts and welcome,
    Thank you for taking the time to visit and comment. Your kind words are appreciated and yes, I am looking forward to finding friends from my past and catching up.
    Best wishes
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

