Summertime


It has been a beautiful summer morning here. I was woken at dawn by the cats, wanting to be let outside, so I stayed up, made a freshly brewed coffee and went outside to enjoy the early morning chorus of magpies, cicadas and chickens which live somewhere close by. As the sun rose, I could feel it gently caressing my skin and within minutes I was taking off  the  light cardigan I was wearing. I enjoy every moment of summer!

Last night, to celebrate Prue’s birthday we went out for an early dinner, which was lovely. It was the first time she had been well enough to enjoy a meal out , since before she became ill.The food was lovely and it was a relaxing meal. When we returned home, she was still receiving calls and text messages for her birthday from her many friends!

Today, we are once again going to Tiffany & Co, to pick up my ring. This is the third or maybe fourth trip we have made and now all I want to do it wear it. Tiffany sorted out the problem of the elusive ring and apparently it is sitting in the safe waiting for us to come and collect it.I hope I bring it home today 🙂

6 thoughts on “Summertime

  1. Ok here it comes, the big question. I have heard the expression before but never heard the meaning expressed. Mungo Jerry and Jethro Tull mention doing a ton. Obviously British for no one in the USA has come up with meaning. Can You?

  2. Maureen,
    Thanks for that trip down memory lane with “Summertime.”

    So glad that you had a nice celebration and that Prue was able to enjoy herself. With any luck, tomorrow you will be posting something about the elusive ring.
    Hugs,
    Lita

  3. Hi, Maureen,
    I love that song! Always have. It’s one that keeps on singing in your head long after the radio stops playing it.

    Glad to hear summer is good, that Prue had a good birthday, and that maybe we might see a photo of that ring on your finger.

    Take care,
    Dan

  4. Hi Lita,
    This song makes me feel happy. It reminds me of long summers, swimming, boys and record players! I am showing my age.
    Hugs
    Maureen

  5. Hi Dan, Thanks for your comments. I am glad that song has pleasant memories for you too. Will post a photos of the ring today (at last) LOL
    Maureen 🙂

Leave a Reply

