Routine life resumes tomorrow.


Tomorrow, D returns to work and we will all resume our daily routines. Although we did not do many of the things we had planned to do, such as play tourist in our own city, we did have quite a relaxing 4 weeks.

I have a list of tasks that need to be done and Prue and I are going to start stripping the wall paper in the lounge room, in preparation for painting. It is much easier to do this while D is at work! We are still undecided about what we are going to do with the kitchen.Right now, we are considering moving it to the back of the house, leading out onto the deck and knocking out the wall between the existing kitchen and lounge to make it a good sized living room, with study nook. Of course, all these renovations are dependent on cost and will only be undertaken when the money is available, so a fresh coat of paint in the lounge will at least brighten it up until such time as any work can begin.

I am going to spend some time today catching up on emails and backing up my hard-drive (which is overdue), then packing away a pile of reference  books which have been sitting on my desk for the past few months!  I need to restore some order to my work space 🙂

(artsjournal.com)

6 thoughts on “Routine life resumes tomorrow.

  1. Maureen,
    I’m sure that just a change of paint will work miracles.

    What method do you use to back up your hard drive? I mean, do you subscribe to a company, or do you just use flash drives?

    I want to do something about backing up, especially if I get down to business with my writing this year.
    Hugs,
    Lita

  2. Interesting, we were visiting my youngest dayghter this weekend and they have a kitchen , dining area and living room combined in their new place. Di and I told them of our plans to knock out a wall and open up that area of our house.

  3. Hi Lita,
    Thanks for your comments and I agree, painting the lounge will give it a much needed lift until such times as we can afford to renovate.When that will be… who knows? LOL
    I will use Prue’s portable hard drive which has a large capacity (1 terabyte) and more than enough room to accommodate my data. I am fortunate because otherwise I would have to copy everything to disc. I think it’s prudent, especially for you to back up because it would be a tragedy if you lost your brilliant writing!
    Hugs
    Maureen

  4. Hi Richard,
    Seems we all have similar ideas about gaining some extra space in our homes. The design of our home is strange and not functional in its present form, so knocking out walls and going open plan would be a practical solution.
    Take care
    Maureen

  5. Oooooh, I like that idea. I think it would be great to open that up to one room 🙂 Found a good kitchen design book that I had bought for myself. I’ll bring it over for you to borrow!

  6. Hi Meghan.
    I am so glad you agree that it would make such an improvement. I would love to take a look at your book. I have also been getting some great ideas from the book you gave us for Christmas. I spend hours just looking at the photos and dreaming LOL
    Take care
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

